COVID-19: Hungary Bars Travel From Africa, Most of Asia

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Hungary’s government on Sunday barred travel from Africa and most of Asia, apart from China and Japan over coronavirus infections.

The countries in the “red” zone include all African countries and most of Asian.

“We need to protect our security so that the virus is not introduced from abroad… the level of active infection cases at home is falling, and we want to keep it like that,” Prime Minister Viktor Orban’s Chief of Staff, Gergely Gulyas, told reporters in Budapest.

Hungarian citizens returning from “red” countries will undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine and be tested for the virus.

Despite having 3.29 million cases and 137,000 deaths, Hungary placed the US in a “yellow” category. Other “yellow” countries include UK, Norway, Serbia, Russia, China, and Japan.

Write A Comment